Current Status
Not Enrolled
Get Started

Houses in Vedic Astrology

What is Bhava or house in Vedic Astrology?

“Bhavana” is a Sanskrit word for house. But word “Bhava” has a much deeper meaning. It can mean spirit, mood, emotion or attitude. This is why different houses in our Vedic Astrology chart, the 12 divisions of the sky of our consciousness, represent primarily how do we feel about different spheres of our life. In other words, they house different aspects of our attitude towards life.

Every Bhava (house) has a fixed position on the sky in relation to earth and inherits its qualities from its relative position to earth. For example, the house strongly connected to our public image, 10th house, always correlates to zenith, the highest and the most visible point in the sky – while 4th house representing most private sphere of our life is deeply hidden below the earth (nadir), right opposite to 10th house.

Houses or Bhavas in Vedic Astrology have many hidden meanings – and understanding what they truly stand for and what is their deeper meaning can help you a lot in understanding any astrological chart better.

Course features
4 classes
Study cases
4 quizzes